Web Content Viewer (JSR 286)

TAY System Navigators:

The TAY Navigation Team’s primary role is to assist SED/SPMI youth with navigating through the various human services systems to achieve effective linkages to needed mental health, housing, and other essential services. Each TAY Navigation Team consists of a master’s level clinician and a housing specialist. The TAY navigation teams are assigned to each Service Area; additional TAY navigators are assigned to the Los Angeles County Probation camps where they serve the primary purpose of providing effective linkage to continuing Mental Health Services and community supports for SED/SPMI TAY leaving the camp settings.

The TAY Navigation Team participates in the Full Service Partnership (FSP) referral screening and disposition processes. They also conduct MHSA outreach presentations in collaboration with Service Area Navigators, Outreach Specialists, and FSP providers to promote knowledge about MHSA and increase utilization of the FSP program services. Mental health promotional activities have been conducted at a variety of sites, including the Los Angeles County Children’s Court, Department of Children and Family Services (DCFS) and Probation offices, local colleges, and mental health conferences. Finally, in an effort to reach unserved, underserved, and inappropriately services youth, the TAY Navigation Teams have established helping relationships with a number of community-based drop-in centers, where the Navigators are able to build trusting alliances with the youth, conduct brief screenings to assess mental health and housing needs, and provide linkages and referrals to appropriate services and supports.

For more information, see the Navigation Team Roster

Mental Health Program/Services

Find the LA County Department of Mental Health services, programs and facilities serving your area.

Enter Address, City or Zip Code :


Service Planning Area Map
Service Planning
Areas Map


Related Information

Transition-Age Youth (TAY) System of Care (SOC)
Terri Boykins, LCSW, Acting Deputy Director
 

Transition-Age Youth (TAY) Division
Terri Boykins, LCSW, District Chief (213) 738-2408
TBoykins@dmh.lacounty.gov

FSP and FCCS
Belen Camacho-Fuller, LCSW, Program Head (213) 351-7737
Bfuller@dmh.lacounty.gov

For more information on our TAY Programs contact TAYDivision@dmh.lacounty.gov
 

TAY FSP Final Authorization Team:
Authorization Desk (213) 639-6730

TAY Enhanced Emergency Shelter Program
Gatekeeper (213) 738-6194

Permanent Supportive Housing Ambassador
Andrew Onaghise (213) 471-6529
Aonaghise@dmh.lacounty.gov

TAY Navigation Program 
Haydouk Zakarian, LCSW (213) 351-7736
Hzakarian@dmh.lacounty.gov

TAY MHSA PEI Evidence-Based Practices and Co-Occurring Disorders Unit
Shirley Flournoy, Ph.D., Program Manager (213) 738-6195
Sflournoy@dmh.lacounty.gov

Sermed Alkass, PsyD, Managing Psychologist (213) 738-4715
Salkass@dmh.lacounty.gov

TAY Drop-In Centers
Sylvia Alarcon (213) 639-6071
Salarcon@dmh.lacounty.gov

Juvenile Justice and Probation Camps/Halls Division
Karen Streich, Ph.D. - District Chief (213) 738-2895
Kstreich@dmh.lacounty.gov

Juvenile Justice Aftercare Services Division
Lori Willis, Ph.D. - Division Chief (213) 351-7733
Lwillis@dmh.lacounty.gov