Probation Camp Services:

Probation Camp Services provides services to youth ages 16 to 20 who are residing in Los Angeles County Probation Camps; particularly youth with SED, SPMI, those with co-occurring substance disorders and/or those who have suffered trauma. Services in the Probation Camps are critical in assisting this population to reach their maximum potential and eventually transition back to the community rather than continue their involvement in the criminal justice system as adults. Multidisciplinary teams, including parent advocates, clinicians, Probation staff, and health staff provide an array of on-site treatment and support services that include the following:

  • Assessments
  • Substance-abuse treatment
  • Gender-specific treatment
  • Medication support
  • Aftercare planning
  • Transition services (including FSP and other intensive community-based mental health services)

A key component of the planned services is outreach and engagement to the incarcerated youth’s family providing transportation to the camps to ensure opportunities to participate in the youth’s treatment during camp placement and through the transition back into the community.

For general inquiries, please contact Karen Streich, Ph.D., District Chief, at Kstreich@dmh.lacounty.gov

For Southern Region Camp Programs, please contact: Angel Kelly-Blades, Program Manager (213) 302-2387 Akellyblaydes@dmh.lacounty.gov

For Northern Region Camp Programs, please contact: Bradley Kyser, Program Manager (661) 296-8500 BKysar@dmh.lacounty.gov

Mental Health Program/Services

Find the LA County Department of Mental Health services, programs and facilities serving your area.

Enter Address, City or Zip Code :


Service Planning Area Map
Service Planning
Areas Map


Related Information

Transition-Age Youth (TAY) System of Care (SOC)
Terri Boykins, LCSW, Acting Deputy Director
 

Transition-Age Youth (TAY) Division
Terri Boykins, LCSW, District Chief (213) 738-2408
TBoykins@dmh.lacounty.gov

FSP and FCCS
Belen Camacho-Fuller, LCSW, Program Head (213) 351-7737
Bfuller@dmh.lacounty.gov

For more information on our TAY Programs contact TAYDivision@dmh.lacounty.gov
 

TAY FSP Final Authorization Team:
Authorization Desk (213) 639-6730

TAY Enhanced Emergency Shelter Program
Gatekeeper (213) 738-6194

Permanent Supportive Housing Ambassador
Andrew Onaghise (213) 471-6529
Aonaghise@dmh.lacounty.gov

TAY Navigation Program 
Haydouk Zakarian, LCSW (213) 351-7736
Hzakarian@dmh.lacounty.gov

Rhonda Richards-Smith, LCSW (213) 351-6649
Rrichardssmith@dmh.lacounty.gov

TAY MHSA PEI Evidence-Based Practices and Co-Occurring Disorders Unit
Shirley Flournoy, Ph.D., Program Manager (213) 738-6195
Sflournoy@dmh.lacounty.gov

Sermed Alkass, PsyD, Managing Psychologist (213) 738-4715
Salkass@dmh.lacounty.gov

TAY Drop-In Centers
Sylvia Alarcon (213) 639-6071
Salarcon@dmh.lacounty.gov

Juvenile Justice and Probation Camps/Halls Division
Karen Streich, Ph.D. - District Chief (213) 738-2895
Kstreich@dmh.lacounty.gov

Juvenile Justice Aftercare Services Division
Lori Willis, Ph.D. - Division Chief (213) 351-7733
Lwillis@dmh.lacounty.gov