Juvenile Justice Transition Aftercare Services (JJTAS):

Background

On June 7, 2011, the County of Los Angeles Board of Supervisors approved the Department of Mental Health to implement a Prevention & Early Intervention program to address the mental health needs of youth at risk of or experiencing juvenile justice involvement.

The Juvenile Justice Transition Aftercare Services (JJTAS) Program focuses on youth transitioning from Probation camp settings back to their home communities by utilizing Evidence Based Practices and linkage services.

The JJTAS program seeks to:

  • Build resiliency and protective factors that leave this population vulnerable to continued involvement in the juvenile justice system.
  • Promote coping and life skills development to minimize recidivism.
  • Identify mental health issues as early as possible and provide early intervention services to assist the youth successfully remain in the community.

Outcome
The JJTAS program staff will collaborate with staff from the Juvenile Justice Camp Mental Health programs and Probation Department to identify youth who show signs of behavioral and emotional difficulties, are at-risk of continued contact with the juvenile justice system, and would benefit from additional evidence based mental health services.

The JJTAS Division will expand comprehensive, community based, culturally relevant mental health services to ensure a seamless transition of juvenile justice youth from camp to their families and communities.

 

For more information, contact Lori Willis, Ph.D., LWillis@dmh.lacounty.gov or at (213) 351-7733

Mental Health Program/Services

Find the LA County Department of Mental Health services, programs and facilities serving your area.

Enter Address, City or Zip Code :


Service Planning Area Map
Service Planning
Areas Map


Related Information

Transition-Age Youth (TAY) System of Care (SOC)
Terri Boykins, LCSW, Acting Deputy Director
 

Transition-Age Youth (TAY) Division
Terri Boykins, LCSW, District Chief (213) 738-2408
TBoykins@dmh.lacounty.gov

FSP and FCCS
Belen Camacho-Fuller, LCSW, Program Head (213) 351-7737
Bfuller@dmh.lacounty.gov

For more information on our TAY Programs contact TAYDivision@dmh.lacounty.gov
 

TAY FSP Final Authorization Team:
Authorization Desk (213) 639-6730

TAY Enhanced Emergency Shelter Program
Gatekeeper (213) 738-6194

Permanent Supportive Housing Ambassador
Andrew Onaghise (213) 471-6529
Aonaghise@dmh.lacounty.gov

TAY Navigation Program 
Douglas Ware, MFT
(213) 351-6649
DWare@dmh.lacounty.gov

Sylvia Heins, LCSW
(213) 351-7736
Sheins@dmh.lacounty.gov

TAY MHSA PEI Evidence-Based Practices and Co-Occurring Disorders Unit
Shirley Flournoy, Ph.D., Program Manager (213) 738-6195
Sflournoy@dmh.lacounty.gov

Sermed Alkass, PsyD, Managing Psychologist (213) 738-4715
Salkass@dmh.lacounty.gov

TAY Drop-In Centers
Sylvia Alarcon (213) 639-6071
Salarcon@dmh.lacounty.gov

Juvenile Justice and Probation Camps/Halls Division
Karen Streich, Ph.D. - District Chief (213) 738-2895
Kstreich@dmh.lacounty.gov

Juvenile Justice Aftercare Services Division
Lori Willis, Ph.D. - Division Chief (213) 351-7733
Lwillis@dmh.lacounty.gov