Web Content Viewer (JSR 286)

Housing Specialist Services:

A study commissioned by DMH in 2003 of federal rental subsidy programs revealed that far fewer than half of the consumers approved to receive a rental subsidy actually leased an apartment. This was largely because mental health staff lacked the time and resources needed to assist the consumers who faced multiple barriers to securing private market housing with their housing search.

Serving as integral members of the TAY Navigation Team, Housing Specialists develop comprehensive housing resource lists, assist SED/SPMI TAY with completing applications for rental subsidies, and prepare consumers for the interview with prospective property owners or housing managers. One of the major functions of a Housing Specialist is to act as an advocate and negotiator for consumers with poor credit and poor housing histories while establishing a professional relationship with property owners and managers. For TAY-age youth, this is a critically needed service as many have little or no history of living independently.

For more information, see the Navigation Team Roster

Mental Health Program/Services

Find the LA County Department of Mental Health services, programs and facilities serving your area.

Enter Address, City or Zip Code :


Service Planning Area Map
Service Planning
Areas Map


Related Information

Transition-Age Youth (TAY) System of Care (SOC)
Terri Boykins, LCSW, Acting Deputy Director
 

Transition-Age Youth (TAY) Division
Terri Boykins, LCSW, District Chief (213) 738-2408
TBoykins@dmh.lacounty.gov

FSP and FCCS
Belen Camacho-Fuller, LCSW, Program Head (213) 351-7737
Bfuller@dmh.lacounty.gov

For more information on our TAY Programs contact TAYDivision@dmh.lacounty.gov
 

TAY FSP Final Authorization Team:
Authorization Desk (213) 639-6730

TAY Enhanced Emergency Shelter Program
Gatekeeper (213) 738-6194

Permanent Supportive Housing Ambassador
Andrew Onaghise (213) 471-6529
Aonaghise@dmh.lacounty.gov

TAY Navigation Program 
Haydouk Zakarian, LCSW (213) 351-7736
Hzakarian@dmh.lacounty.gov

Rhonda Richards-Smith, LCSW (213) 351-6649
Rrichardssmith@dmh.lacounty.gov

TAY MHSA PEI Evidence-Based Practices and Co-Occurring Disorders Unit
Shirley Flournoy, Ph.D., Program Manager (213) 738-6195
Sflournoy@dmh.lacounty.gov

Sermed Alkass, PsyD, Managing Psychologist (213) 738-4715
Salkass@dmh.lacounty.gov

TAY Drop-In Centers
Sylvia Alarcon (213) 639-6071
Salarcon@dmh.lacounty.gov

Juvenile Justice and Probation Camps/Halls Division
Karen Streich, Ph.D. - District Chief (213) 738-2895
Kstreich@dmh.lacounty.gov

Juvenile Justice Aftercare Services Division
Lori Willis, Ph.D. - Division Chief (213) 351-7733
Lwillis@dmh.lacounty.gov